Atlantic Ocean

The Atlantic Ocean is the second largest ocean in the world in size, surpassed only by the Pacific.

The Atlantic covers an area of ​​approximately 80 million square kilometers and an average depth of 3,300 meters. It separates Europe and Africa from America.

The Atlantic Ocean divides the oceanic waters of the planet. Although there are different names for each ocean, their waters are interconnected. The Atlantic Ocean, for example, is linked to the north with the Arctic Ocean; to the southwest, with the Pacific Ocean; southeast with the Indian Ocean; and to the south with Antarctic.

The Atlantic Ocean is divided into two parts, taking as its reference the Equator line, originating in the North Atlantic and South Atlantic. The Mediterranean Sea, the North Sea, the Caribbean Sea and the Baltic are part of this ocean. The Atlantic bathes the Brazilian and African coast.

The oceanic relief of the Atlantic has a large mountain range (from north to south) called the Mesoatlantic Dorsal.

The great rivers of the world flow into the Atlantic, among which we mention: Amazon River, Saint Lawrence, Orinoco, Mississippi, Parana, Congo, Niger and Loire.

Even though it ranks as the second largest in size, the Atlantic ranks first in importance, as much of the trade flows through it.


- The name Atlantic comes from the name Atlas (Titan of Greek mythology).

- Atlantic waters cover approximately 20% of the land surface.

- The Atlantic Ocean has a rich marine biodiversity with thousands of species (fish, marine mammals, crustaceans among others).

- In addition to fishing, the Atlantic is of great importance for shipping (tourism and freight transport).

- The salinity level of Atlantic waters ranges from 3 to 4%.

- In some regions of the coast of America, there is a large amount of oil and gas reserves.

- Its main seas are: Mediterranean Sea, North Sea, Caribbean Sea, English Channel and Irish Sea.

- Its main islands are: Falkland Islands, Antilles, Azores, Bermuda, Madeira, Greenland, Canary Islands, Fernando de Noronha, Tierra del Fuego, Santa Catarina Island, Faroe Islands and British Isles.
- The main marine current of the Atlantic Ocean is the Gulf Stream.